The Gabbiano prize was created in 1984, in recognition of the Concorso Anteprima, the main competition with which the festival began.


It was a section dedicated to the discovery of new representatives of independent cinema, films of any genre, format or length, which were able to open the public’s eyes to new perspectives of the Italian cinema of the future, through research and experimentation of language and aesthetics.
The Gabbiano prize was awarded until 1997, and among many others was won by Silvio Soldini, Paolo Rosa, Fernanda Moneta, Ciprì and Maresco, Agostino Ferrente